Senior Leadership Team

Mr C. Story

Designated Safeguarding Lead, Senior Mental Health Lead, Curriculum Leader, Leadership & Management, CIOC Designated Teacher, GDPR Champion.

I have worked at Hardwick Green since September 2019 when I was Vice Principal, and I took up post as Principal in April 2020. I started teaching back in 2009 after graduating from Durham University and taught for ten years in Stockton - from Year 1 to Year 6 - before coming to Hardwick. I am interested in what makes a good school leader and my favourite subject to teach is mathematics. Outside of work, I spend most of my time looking after my twin boys, but when I get some free time I enjoy reading (Stephen King is my favourite author), cooking, and building Lego!


Mr A. Piggford

Vice Principal
Inclusion Lead, Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead, Teaching & Learning Lead, Instructional Coaching Lead, Attendance Lead, School Council & Pupil Voice

I am the Vice Principal of Hardwick Green Academy and I am passionate about everyone being the best they can be. I graduated from Durham University and have a keen interest in the psychology of how we know more and remember more. I have taught across all year groups and my favourite subjects are Music, Art and PE - everyone can be creative in these subjects! I also enjoy reading and believe everyone can become a better reader if they read little and often every day. In my spare time, I am very busy chasing my two children around and wasting my time supporting AFC Sunderland... one day they will return to the Premier League!

Mr A. Jones

Assistant Principal / Year 3 Teacher
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead, Assessment Leader, English Leader

I have worked at Hardwick Green as Assistant Principal for three years now and have been teaching since 2013 after graduating from Teesside University. I have spent my teaching career in Key Stage 2, teaching all year groups from 3 – 6. In school, my passion is writing and exploring vocabulary and language with children. I love to spend time with children, telling stories and reading books. Outside of school, I have three young children to keep me busy and entertained. I play football on a Saturday afternoon and coach a junior football team on a Sunday.



Mrs M. White

Nursery Teacher

Mrs N. Gorman

Reception Teacher
SLT - EYFS Leader


Mrs J. Scott

Nursery Teacher
PSHE Subject Leader, EYFS Walkthru Coach


Miss C. Pruden

TA - Reception

Mrs S. Salmon


Mrs G. Hugill

TA - Nursery

Miss L. Thomas

EYFS Apprentice TA

Miss K. West

Two Year Old Room Leader

Miss A. Campbell

Two Year Old Room TA

Key Stage One

Miss L. Illes

Year 2 Teacher
SLT - Early Reading Leader

Miss H. Graham

Year 1/2 Teacher

Miss C. Featherstone

Year 1/2 Teacher
ITT / ECT Lead Coach, KS1 Walkthru Coach

Miss R. Harris

Year 1/2 Teacher

Mrs Y. Summerson

TA - Year 1/2

Mrs J. Mitchell

TA - Year 1/2

Year 3

Mrs S. Phillips-Nunn

Year 3 Teacher
STEM Team - Design & Technology Subject Leader


Miss M. Carr

Year 3 Teacher
SLT - Mathematics Leader

Miss C. Harrison

TA - Year 3

Year 4

Mrs J. Keegan

Year 4 Teacher
History / Geography Subject Leader, LKS2 Walkthru Coach


Miss A. Bower

Year 4 Teacher
RE Subject Leader


Mrs J. Walker

Year 4 TA
Learning Mentor

Miss E. Curry


Year 5

Mrs G. Newton

Year 5 Teacher
STEM Team - Eco Club Leader

Miss H. Fawcett

Year 5 Teacher
SLT - SENDCo / Music Subject Leader

Miss A. Fodor

Year 5 Teacher
Art Subject Leader

Mrs T. Wright

HLTA - Year 5

Year 6

Mr M. Laing

Year 6 Teacher
UKS2 Walkthru Coach, PE Subject Leader

Mr D. Pottinger

Year 6 Teacher
STEM Team Leader, Science Subject Leader


Mrs S. Gray

HLTA - Year Six

Mrs T. Palmer

HLTA - Year 6

Inclusion Team

Miss J. Howarth

Specialist Safeguarding Officer

Mrs G. Ricketts

Education Welfare Officer

Admin Team

Mrs H. Stuart

Academy Business Manager

Miss S. Harding

Senior Administrator

Catering Team

Mrs J. Copland

Head Cook

Mr F. Sanna

Assistant Cook

Mrs J. Westwood

Catering Assistant

Mrs S. Hansen

Catering Assistant

Premises Team

Mr P. Yates

Site Manager

Supervisory Team

Mrs C. Licorish

Senior Supervisor

Mrs S. Bubb


Mrs D. Alderton


Mrs V. Brand